Guyana Amazon Warriors – CPL 2020 Team Preview

Guyana Amazon Warriors – So near yet so far

Guyana Amazon Warriors is one of the franchise teams of the Caribbean Premier League based on Guyana Province. The team is owned by Dr. Ranjisingh`s ‘Bobby’ Ramroop`s New GPC Inc. Guyana Amazon Warriors is one of the six teams created in the inaugural season in 2013. Providence Ground at Georgetown is their home ground and no matches are scheduled at this venue this season.  They are the most consistent team of the tournament`s history as they have reached knockouts in every season and never ended below the third position. They are also the most unlucky team as they failed to win in all their 5 appearances in the final. 

No. of seasons played: 7 (All seasons)

Best Result: Runners-up in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2018, & 2019 seasons

2019 Season result: Runners-up (Lost to Barbados Tridents in Finals)

Coach: Johan Botha

Guyana Amazon Warriors – So near yet so far


Now, let`s analyze the team combination, squad strength, and different player options available in the Guyana Amazon Warriors for the 2020 season. Guyana Amazon Warriors have been the most consistent team and the title eluded them so far. A title victory is never out of their reach and it is due for a long time. 

Captain: Nicholas Pooran or Shimron Hetmyer

Guyana Amazon Warriors have a vacant captain`s spot with Shoaib Malik missing this year`s tournament. Nicholas Pooran is expected to be the front-runner for captaincy role while Shimron Hetmyer may also be a good choice from the franchise. 

Batsmen: Brandon King, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer

Shimron Hetmyer is having a quiet phase after his explosive knocks in the international circuit in early 2019. He will look to regain form and perform well with the bat this season. Brandon King and Chanderpaul Hemraj featured among top-5 run-scorers last season and were vital in taking their team to the finals. Veteran Kiwi player Ross Taylor will add great value to the batting department with his experience and firepower. 

All-rounders: Keemo Paul, Shane Rutherford, Chris Green, Jasdeep Singh

Keemo Paul and Shane Rutherford are two of the exciting young talents in the West Indian circuit. They both can bowl a lot of variations & cutters with the ball and score some vital runs down the order. Chris Green is one of the upcoming impressive spinners who hails from Australia and is expected to slot in the starting XI. Jasdeep Singh is a US player who will act as the replacement for if they need a pace-bowling all-rounder. 

Wicket-Keepers: Nicholas Pooran, Anthony Bramble

Nicholas Pooran is one of the finest strikers of the cricket ball in West Indies. He will be their first choice keeper with Anthony Bramble being the reserve keeper in the squad. 

Bowlers: Imran Tahir, Qais Ahmed, Romario Shepherd, Naveen Ul Haq, Ashmedd Nead, Odean Smith, Kevin Sinclair

The leggie duo of Imran Tahir and Qais Ahmed has a vast experience of playing in different leagues across the globe and are genuine wicket-takers. Romario Shepherd and Afghani Naveen-Ul-Haq have experience of playing for the national teams and are expected to sort in the starting XI. Ashmedd Nedd, Odean Smith, and Kevin Sinclair are the fringe bowlers available in the squad who are waiting to showcase their talent. 

Expected starting XI 

Nicholas Pooran (C & Wk), Brandon King, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, Shane Rutherford, Chris Green, Imran Tahir, Romario Shepherd, Naveen Ul Haq 

Remaining Players: Jasdeep Singh, Anthony Bramble, Qais Ahmed, Ashmedd Nead, Kevin Sinclair, Odean             Smith

Guyana Amazon Warriors CPL 2020 Schedule

Guyana Amazon Warriors will play their opening match against Trinbago Knight Riders on the tournament opener.   Here is the complete schedule of the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the CPL 2020.

  1. Trinbago Knight Riders vs. Guyana Amazon Warriors, 18 August, 10:00 AM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  2. Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, 19 August, 05:30 PM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  3. Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. Jamaica Tallawahs, 22 August, 05:30 PM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  4. Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. St Lucia Zouks, 24 August, 05:30 PM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  5. Jamaica Tallawahs vs. Guyana Amazon Warriors, 25 August, 05:30 PM, Queen`s Park Oval
  6. Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. Trinbago Knight Riders, 27 August, 05:30 PM, Queen`s Park Oval
  7. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs. Guyana Amazon Warriors, 30 August, 05:30 PM, Queen`s Park Oval
  8. Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. Barbados Tridents, 1 September, 05:30 PM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  9. St Lucia Zouks vs. Guyana Amazon Warriors, 2 September, 05:30 PM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  10. Barbados Tridents vs. Guyana Amazon Warriors, 3 September, 05:30 PM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy

CPL 2020 Prediction:

Guyana Amazon Warriors are the most consistent team in CPL history and they have some exciting young players such as Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul, and Romario Shepherd alongside veteran players like Ross Taylor and Imran Tahir. They have arguably the strongest batting line-up with young West Indian players. Their spin department is also in good hands with the likes of Chris Green, Imran Tahir, and Qais Ahmed. Their grey area is the vacant captaincy role and the lack of a raw pace bowler barring Romario Shepherd who can bowl 140+kmph consistently.  We expect the Guyana Amazon Warriors to be in the top two teams of the league owing to their consistency and exciting young West Indian players. 

Top players to bet on: 

  1. Brandon King – Opener & top run-scorer in CPL 2019 season
  2. Nicholas Pooran – Aggressive middle-order batsmen and wicket-keeper
  3. Chris Green – Effective Off-spinner and can hit big shots 
  4. Imran Tahir – Experienced leg-spinner
  5. Romario Shepherd – Pace bowler who can bowl 140+ kmph consistently
10cric logo

100% up to ₹10,000

Play now Play now
About Dhinesh.Kumar

Dhinesh is a cricket article writer with a good-understanding and love towards the game. He is aspiring to become a cricket journalist and column writer in the future. His favorite teams are the Indian Cricket team & Chennai Super Kings. He is an ardent fan of MS Dhoni and Dale Steyn.

Written 1 year ago

Relevant news