Trinbago Knight Riders – CPL 2020 Team Preview

Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders is one of the franchise teams of the Caribbean Premier League based on Trinidad & Tobacco. Trinbago Knight Riders are owned by Red Chillies Entertainment and Mehta Group. The team was called and Trinbago red Steel till 2015 but changed to Trinbago Knight Riders after Red Chillies Entertainment bought the team. Indian actor Shahrukh Khan is one of the prominent shareholders in Trinbago Knight Riders team. The home grounds Queen`s Park Oval and Brian Lara Stadium are the only two venues where the entire CPL 2020 is scheduled to happen. They are the most successful team of the tournament`s history with 3 title victories. They have reached the knockouts in all 7 seasons played so far. 

No. of seasons played: 7 (All seasons)

Best Result: Winners in 2015, 2017, & 2018 seasons

2019 Season result: Third position (Lost to Barbados Tridents in Qualifiers 2)

Coach: Brendon McCullum


Now, let`s analyze the team combination, squad strength, and different player options available in the Trinbago Knight Riders team for the 2020 season. Trinbago Knight Riders are the team to look out for in every season with most title victories.      

Captain: Kieron Pollard

Kieron Pollard is a veteran T20 player who has played over T20 matches across different T20 leagues across the globe. He is the current limited-overs captain of the West Indian team. He is an aggressive middle-order batsman and a handy bowler who can give you crucial overs. 

Batsmen: Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Colin Munro

Darren Bravo and Lendl Simmons are quality players who have vast experience of representing the West Indies team. They both are capable of playing big knocks and are more reliable batsmen in tough conditions. Colin Munro is one of the best T20I players of recent years and he has 4 T20I centuries to his name (the most by any player). Munro is expected to open the batting alongside Lendl Simmons. 

All-rounders: Dwayne Bravo, Sikander Raza, Akeal Hossain, Tion Webster

Dwayne Bravo is a champion all-rounder in T20I format and has played nearly 500 matches so far. He is the leading wicket-taker in CPL history with 97 scalps. Sikander Raza is a quality all-rounder who can contribute effectively with both bat and ball. Akeal Hossain and Tion Webster are local West Indian players who will be looking to make a mark with their opportunities this season. 

Wicket-Keepers: Tim Seifert, Amir Jangoo

Tim Seifert is one of the impressive upcoming international players from New Zealand. He will be their first choice wicket-keeper in the league. Amir Jangoo will be reserve wicket-keeper for the team. 

Bowlers: Sunil Narine, Fawad Ahmed, Praveen Tambe,  Khary Pierre, Jayden Seales, Anderson Philip,     Ali Khan

They have one of the strongest spin departments with the likes of Sunil Narine, Fawad Ahmed, Khary Pierre, and Praveen T

ambe. They have a variety of options with off-spin, left-arm spin, and leg-break bowlers in the team. They have an inexperienced pace attack with the likes of young Ali Khan, Anderson Philip, and Jayden Seales in the squad. 

Expected starting XI 

Kieron Pollard (C), Dwayne Bravo, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Colin Munro, Tim Seifert(Wk), Sunil Narine, Khary Pierre, Fawad Ahmed, Jayden Seales, Ali Khan

Remaining Players: Amir Jangroo, Praveen Tambe, Anderson Philip,Sikander Raza, Akeal Hossain, Tion Webster

CPL 2020 Schedule

Trinbago Knight Riders will play their opening match against Guyana Amazon Warriors on the tournament opener.   Here is the complete schedule of Trinbago Knight Riders in the CPL 2020.

  1. Trinbago Knight Riders vs. Guyana Amazon Warriors, 18 August, 10:00 AM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  2. Trinbago Knight Riders vs. Jamaica Tallawahs, 20 August, 05:30 PM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  3. Trinbago Knight Riders vs. Barbados Tridents, 23 August, 10 AM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  4. St Lucia Zouks vs. Trinbago Knight Riders, 26 August, 10:00 AM, Queen`s park Oval
  5. Guyana Amazon Warriors vs. Trinbago Knight Riders, 27 August, 05:30 PM, Queen`s Park Oval
  6. Barbados Tridents vs. Trinbago Knight Riders, 29 August, 10:00 AM, Queen`s Park Oval
  7. Jamaica Tallawahs vs. Trinbago Knight Riders, 1 September, 10:00 AM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  8. Trinbago Knight Riders vs. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots, 2 September, 10:00 AM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  9. Trinbago Knight Riders vs. St Lucia Zouks, 5 September, 10.00 AM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy
  10. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots vs. Trinbago Knight Riders, 6 September, 10:00 AM, Brian Lara Cricket Academy

CPL 2020 Prediction

Trinbago Knight Riders are one of the strongest teams in the CPL with big names such as Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Colin Munro, and Sunil Narine in their ranks. They have strong all-round squad with good mix of young and experienced players. Lack of experienced pace bowler will be their only weakness on paper. We expect the Trinbago Knight Riders to be in the top two teams of the league with their star players and team composition. 

Top players to bet on

  1. Dwayne Bravo – Middle order batsmen & death bowler (All-rounder) 
  2. Kieron Pollard – Aggressive middle order batsmen and occasionally bowls
  3. Sunil Narine – Mystery Spinner and can hit big shots easily
  4. Colin Munro – Attacking opener 
  5. Lendl Simmons – Opening batsmen & consistent scorer
10cric logo

100% up to ₹10,000

Play now Play now
About Dhinesh.Kumar

Dhinesh is a cricket article writer with a good-understanding and love towards the game. He is aspiring to become a cricket journalist and column writer in the future. His favorite teams are the Indian Cricket team & Chennai Super Kings. He is an ardent fan of MS Dhoni and Dale Steyn.

Written 1 year ago

Relevant news